HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Waterfowl Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/waterfowl-hunting-7/)
-   -   Jumpin some ducks (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/waterfowl-hunting/198875-jumpin-some-ducks.html)

sffguitar 07-23-2007 03:56 PM

Jumpin some ducks

hey guys, im a rookie with duck hunting....I mostly hunt big game and upland...but this year I want to try some waterfowl. anyways Id like to know what kind of gear I would need for some good ol fashion jump shooting, (calls, camo, ect..) Thanks.

Colorado Luckydog 07-23-2007 04:25 PM

RE: Jumpin some ducks

If you are gonna jump shoot only, all you need is a shotgun. If you are going to try and decoy birds, you can start with just a handful of decoys and a call. Then you build from there. I would suggest watching a little outdoor channel or going to the library and getting a book. Good Luck!

Edit- a good location will be very important, if not the most important.

Roadkillwarrior 07-23-2007 08:13 PM

Thats how I started out duck hunting, and didnt do to bad. The best way to hunt ducks with the minimal equipment I found out is to find a spot where you see ducks every day and go and sit there the next morning and shoot them as they come in. All you need is some waders, shot gun, and alot of bullets in my case because I miss alot.

sffguitar 07-23-2007 09:56 PM

thanks guys.

Duckbuster612 07-24-2007 12:23 PM

lol ive found out its very very very very very very very hard to jump shoot geese. They always have one goose with its head up. I havent tried jumpin ducks though. If your gonna try it with geese though, get a gun, hevi-shot (knocks em down every time) and possibly a ghillie suit :D

huntingbuddy419 07-30-2007 08:09 PM

all you need to jump shoot is waders, shotgun, and shells. I like to do it ocasionally it is pretty fun. If you want to decoy waterfowl thats another story.

harter66 07-30-2007 09:25 PM