Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Your specialty?

Old 01-23-2007, 05:10 PM
Typical Buck

Default Your specialty?

This is my first year waterfowling and ,like alot of hunters, one ofmy favorite ducks to hunt is the mallard, mostly because they are the most common here in this part of Indiana. But my favorite has to be the wood duck with the beatifully colored plumidge. They are one of the easiest to hunt to me because most of the time I can just sit and wait at a pond or stream without decoys or calls and be successfull. One duck I realy would like to shoot is the pintail. I was wondering what you hunters would consider your specialty in waterfowl hunting.
Old 01-23-2007, 05:18 PM

Default RE: Your specialty?

im in indiana also .... as far as specialty id say any of the puddle ducks and canadas .... lol ..... as far as my favorite bird i like huntin .... i would have to saypintails ... love how they work ..... may make a pass over ya ..... leave for a bit ....come back ... make a few passes ..... leave .... come back .... make a pass .... then drop into the spread like a hunk of lead ..... then the next one may hit the water in the dekes before ya even get a chance to see it .... but for the most part .... very wary bird .... also love huntin divers .... heck what am i talkin bout .... i love em all !!! lol
Old 01-23-2007, 05:19 PM
Nontypical Buck

Mine would probably be black ducks and teal as far as species go. Mallards to some extent, but we don't get as many as other places in the country.

If it came down to strategy, I specialize in hunting with a few decoys in a broad area, and using limited, but well timed calling, I manage to do better than most of my competition.