HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Video & Photography (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/video-photography-86/)
-   -   Audio Problems (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/video-photography/244842-audio-problems.html)

FireDiver 05-03-2008 07:18 PM

Audio Problems

My current setup consists of a Sony HVR-Z1U and Sennheiser G2 100 series wireless mic.

I switched my camera from DV to HDV and my audio stopped working. The bars move showing sound.....but there is nothing but faint static in the headphones and no audio at all when I play back the footage.

I'm sure there is a simple fix but I'm not aware of it. I bought this camera last summer and I'm still learning how to use all of the bells and whistles.

Any thoughts????

Thanks,
Scott

Big Country 05-03-2008 08:18 PM

RE: Audio Problems

I had to run out to another room and test this on one of my HVR-Z1U`s to be sure prior to answering.........

I am "assuming" that you added the sennheiser wireless mics using a male XLR connector, and plugging it into one of the two XLR female ports onboard the camera?

I am also "assuming", by the nature of your problem that you are still using the factory onboard mic?

Once you use one of the XLR ports on the camera, your onboard mic is disabled.

I use the same wireless mic`s as you, and I also use a sennheiser me66/k6 shotgun mic on my Z1U`s.

If this is NOT how yours is set up, let me know, and I will play with my cameras to try and find the answer for you.:)

BTW, the footage I get with my cameras in hunting situations is unbelievably good.

FireDiver 05-03-2008 10:09 PM

Sennheiser via XLR and also OEM shotgun mic via XLR.

The only thing I changed on the camera was switching from DV to HDV. When I was unable to trouble shoot the problem this morning in a ground blind.....I switched back to DV and the audio started working again.

I am very happy with this camera's performance.

Big Country 05-04-2008 08:23 AM