Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Outdoor Gear > Video & Photography
 Uploading video through FireWire >

Uploading video through FireWire

Video & Photography Tips, tricks, and suggestions for videotaping and photographing your hunts.

Uploading video through FireWire

Old 10-02-2007, 08:22 AM
  #1  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
pheasantfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Central Kansas
Posts: 2,499
Default Uploading video through FireWire

I just got a firewire cable for my Mini DV camcorder so I could upload video to my computer. It automatically uses Windows Movie Maker to upload it and has to play through the whole tape to upload it. It also is terrible video quality. I know my camera has better quality than it is uploding.Is there any way to upload it a different way and get better quality and upload it faster??? This is my first Mini DV camera and I don't have any experience with FireWire either.
pheasantfanatic is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 08:47 PM
  #2  
Typical Buck
 
lungbuster12point06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location:
Posts: 675
Default RE: Uploading video through FireWire

Capturing video is done at a one to one ratio: meaning you cannot capture at a rate faster than it was recorded, you may have had a bad connection since you say the quality was bad.........it should look close to the same as it does on your LCD screen on the camera depending on the resolution of your computer monitor.

You said it automatically "uploads" to Movie maker, do you have any other editing software you would like to capture it in?
lungbuster12point06 is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 08:52 PM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
pheasantfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Central Kansas
Posts: 2,499
Default RE: Uploading video through FireWire

ORIGINAL: lungbuster12point06


You said it automatically "uploads" to Movie maker, do you have any other editing software you would like to capture it in?
No, I don't. I don't know much aboout video editing or anything like that.
pheasantfanatic is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 08:04 AM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern Illinoise
Posts: 2,464
Default RE: Uploading video through FireWire

Check your settings in Windows Movie Maker and see what rate and size it's capturing your video at. Most likely it's saving your video down to a smaller size that's more suitable for the web/e-mail than for local playback.

Just make sure you have plenty of hard drive space beause hi-resolution videos take up a LOT.
Justin is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 07:05 PM
  #5  
Spike
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Van Buren, Arkansas
Posts: 83
Default RE: Uploading video through FireWire

Also remember the reason it probably looks worse as far as quality goes is because your computer monitor is going to have a lot higher resolution than your television. Mine looks the same way.
Stainless is offline  
Old 10-04-2007, 07:28 PM
  #6  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
pheasantfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Central Kansas
Posts: 2,499
Default RE: Uploading video through FireWire

Thanks guys. I'll mess with it some more.
pheasantfanatic is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
kwaldeier
Trail Cameras
9
02-23-2009 02:48 PM
buckrubboy
Bowhunting
1
08-21-2008 07:21 PM
cooter144
Bowhunting
1
10-26-2007 09:38 AM
eatsleephunt
Technical Help
1
09-14-2007 09:23 AM
early in
Technical Help
0
02-04-2006 02:23 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Quick Reply: Uploading video through FireWire


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.