Community
Upland Bird Hunting Whether you are into pheasants or grouse, quail or chukars, find out what you need to know here.

Ruffed Grouse and Woodcock

Old 09-10-2019, 06:53 AM
Spike

Default Ruffed Grouse and Woodcock

I have been hunting grouse and woodcock since 1957 and I have owned Brittany's since 1976. I just got a new pup here in July, he won't be old enough to hunt really till next year but I am looking forward to it. Anyone else here enjoy hunting these birds?
Old 09-10-2019, 08:57 AM
Nontypical Buck

well congrats on the new poppy, few things in life IMO are as much fun as getting a new one and then watching them grow an mature into the best friends a person can have

as for grouse and woodcock
I used to love hunting them from a kid up, I lived in a area that had high populations and dozens of flushes a day was the norm
then about late 90's populations dropped like mad, to the point, a flush a week is about what you get with a GOOD dog, and they have never bounced back like so many claim, swing deals in them
its been 20 yrs and populations are near NON, habitat is growing well, due to timbering and other things, so its NOT just bad habitat

the four or five other places thru out the state of PA, where I also logged a lot of hours in hunting them over the decades, are the same, very low numbers, flushes super rare anymore!

got to the point in about mid 2000's I quit shooting them when I had the chance, was worried I might be killing the last one !

what a shame, but seems to be a common issue with many upland bird species in PA (used to be a top 5 pheasant state at one time)
Turkeys took over IMO
but if your still lucky to have some good spots, good for you, I am stuck with just good memories now LOL
please post a few pic's of the pup too, sure more than me would enjoy seeing them here!
most of my hunting camp members all were Britt owners, and I sure , spent a LOT of time with them dogs over my yrs too, , some super funny stories as well with some