HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Upland Bird Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/upland-bird-hunting-8/)
-   -   Upland bird hunting in WA (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/upland-bird-hunting/40747-upland-bird-hunting-wa.html)

howellm70 10-21-2003 09:47 PM

Upland bird hunting in WA

This is my first post on this site so hello all. I' m a newly graduated hunter in WA state so please excuse what may be pure naiveness.

This is my first year hunting upland game birds in WA. Thus far this year, I' ve spent a fair amount of time hunting grouse in the Leavenworth/Wenatchee area - with actually pretty good success I think.

I' m heading over to the Lake Chelan area for Thanksgiving and am wondering if anyone could give me some instruction/direction about the types of birds I might find over there and where to look. To my knowledge the terrain is quite a bit different so I' m not sure grouse are a possibility. What about quail/pheasant? Any general areas to consider?

Any help is much appreciated. Thanks in advance and good luck in everybody' s hunting adventures.

PugetSound 10-22-2003 02:17 AM

RE: Upland bird hunting in WA

We camped in the town of Chelan this summer and I went driving along the north side of the lake in the public lands and saw an unbelievable amount of quail. Didn' t see any pheasant. Good Luck.

Nate

howellm70 10-22-2003 10:00 AM

Thanks Nate - were you on the Manson side of the lake or the side that leads back to wenatchee? Any idea if you can hunt these lands?

seattlesetters 10-22-2003 11:02 AM

Welcome! While I haven' t hunted much directly on Chelan, I have taken more than a few chukar, huns, pheasant and quail within a fairly short distance. Lots of places near Coulee City and Grand Coulee dam, and quite a few more closer by on the east side of the river.

Do you have a bird dog? If so, some of the places I am thinking of would be worth a look.