HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Upland Bird Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/upland-bird-hunting-8/)
-   -   Raising Birds (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/upland-bird-hunting/275747-raising-birds.html)

sportsman22 11-27-2008 07:18 PM

Raising Birds

I want to start getting some info on raising pheasants. I was just wondering if I could any takes from anyone who raises them.

petrey10 11-27-2008 09:12 PM

RE: Raising Birds

what is your goal in raising the birds? Are you doing it to establish a polutation or just for fun? I must know that it is very likely you will lose about 50 percent of your birds due to weak chicks....etc...

Illinois hunter 11-29-2008 09:33 PM

Im in my second year of hatching birds. Let me tell you first hand that there is a lot to learn and it can become pricey to get started. It is a fun hobby but can become time consuming. You will find that hatching is an art within itself. Are you planning on buying chicks ?

X-LINY 11-30-2008 04:49 AM

ORIGINAL: sportsman22

I want to start getting some info on raising pheasants. I was just wondering if I could any takes from anyone who raises them.
I would suggest that before you start on any wild game bird venture, to get in touch with your states DNR and ask them about permit requirements, and the rules and regulation regarding harboring wild game birds.

Good luck!

Steve
Pheasant Hollow Farm

trapperman25 11-30-2008 07:05 PM

i have all you have to do is keep them warm and fead and in the sun and they have room

arintime 12-01-2008 12:12 AM

A friend and Iare going to raise pheasants. There were some raised in thearea before I moved in and I got to see the end of them (I think the coyotes got the last of them). Is it DNR I need to contact for permits in Washington? I am planning on a 20'x20' pen. Is that big enough? I am looking for about a dozen to start andI have lots of room to expand (or grow)! It will be for fun.