Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Upland Bird Hunting
 I want to start hunting upland game birds >

I want to start hunting upland game birds

Upland Bird Hunting Whether you are into pheasants or grouse, quail or chukars, find out what you need to know here.

I want to start hunting upland game birds

Old 01-28-2008, 12:08 PM

Default I want to start hunting upland game birds

I would like to get into upland game bird hunting. I have no experience hunting Pheasants and such, but really want to start. Im a safe hunter, and have been hunting other stuff pretty much all my life; like Whitetail, Rabbit & Squirell, Hogs, etc. The area I grew up in just doesnt have alot of upland game birds; thats why I havent hunted them. I would really like to start.

Are there clubs in Louisiana, or Mississippi taking members? Are there any other members here from South Louisiana that, maybe, wouldnt mind a newbie tagging along for a hunt? Like I said, Im a safe hunter.
Old 01-28-2008, 07:30 PM

Default RE: I want to start hunting upland game birds

go to a bird reserve. they put out birds for you before you go out. they provide dogs(an essential) and guides. they also clean birds for you if you want them too. at a reserve you are almost garunteed a bird or two.
Old 01-29-2008, 03:51 PM

^ honestly that dosnt sound like hunting to me
Old 01-30-2008, 03:09 AM

might not be true hunting, but with bird numbers the way that they are, unless you go to Kansas, the Dakotas, or one of a couple of other places well known for their wild bird populations, a preserve isn't a bad place to start. You can get your feet wet in the sport, and get a feel to some extent to what is involved. If you then want to keep at it, then, start looking for a dog, and spending the money to hunt the big wingshooting destinations in the US.

Good Luck
Old 01-30-2008, 09:52 AM

ORIGINAL: kdvollmer