HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Upland Bird Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/upland-bird-hunting-8/)
-   -   Kansas Pheasant. Please help! (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/upland-bird-hunting/219745-kansas-pheasant-please-help.html)

mutantcoil 11-27-2007 09:48 AM

Kansas Pheasant. Please help!

This is my first year doing upland. I’ve made two trips up to Kansas so far. I’m getting a little frustrated though because 95% of the birds flush 100 + yards out. Most of the time the dogs are not even near them so I can not blame the dogs. We see a lot of birds but they are just not holding. My dog has pointed a few that did hold but all except one have been hens. Most of the time there is at least 3 of us and we are getting in a line, about 25 + yards apart, and pushing through the CRP walk-in areas. The dogs do a very good job of filling in the gaps between us. We always try to find walk-ins next to milo or corn fields. If there are low areas with brush we work those with one person/dog on each side. If there is a nice hedge row we work both sides of that too. We try to be as quite as possible but giving the dogs commands obviously requires making some noise. I’m starting to get worried that the dog is going to loose interest, I know I am.

What am I doing wrong?

golfcat 11-27-2007 10:14 AM

RE: Kansas Pheasant. Please help!

Nothing!! Welcome to pheasant hunting. Try walking into the wind or wait until it's a little colder when they'll hold a bit more.Don't space out so far, I realize your dogs are covering ground but they are missing the few you could shoot. It's been too dry for them to find them all.Slow down and keep your fingers crossed. There are always some dumb ones that will hold. Good luck

Super G Force 11-27-2007 02:03 PM