Community
Upland Bird Hunting Whether you are into pheasants or grouse, quail or chukars, find out what you need to know here.

South Dakota???

Old 09-05-2007, 01:23 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: South Dakota???

went out yesterday afternoon check the game camera and flushed a couple of big groups of pheasants, they were flying up everywhere! can't wait to get the dog out on some birds. only 45 more days!
Old 09-22-2007, 08:09 PM

This is my last year as a SD resident I hope to make it a great hunting season! My father and I went out around the Kimball area to shoot some clay birds and well, it's going to be one of those years where every hunt should produce birds!
Old 09-26-2007, 05:55 PM
Typical Buck

It's offical, I will be headed out with some buddies from the Rocky Mt. Pointing Lab Club on Nov.16! Still deciding on an area, but we be there.
Old 10-04-2007, 12:28 AM
Nontypical Buck

I lived in Brookings a couple years back. That is around 2 hours north of Mitchell. There is a lot of public areas which if I recall filled iwth birds. You should do fine in that area.
Old 10-04-2007, 08:18 PM
Giant Nontypical

ORIGINAL: bl|nk

I hunt the Mitchell area alot (I'm from Mitchell) I stick to a 3 section of Public land just north east of mitchell (about 15 minutes or so) I've always had good luck and it's a big clump of land so even if alot of hunters get onto it I can usually find myself some unwalked area. For west of Mitchell my father and I used to hunt the public land between Plankinton & Whitelake. These public areas get hit really hard during the first part of the season. I've heard of good area hunting around the Woonsocket area.