Upland Bird Hunting Whether you are into pheasants or grouse, quail or chukars, find out what you need to know here.

Training a pointer

Old 11-28-2006, 01:12 PM
Typical Buck

Default Training a pointer

I have a 14 week old Weimaraner and would like to train her to point, I will be using her to hunt pheasant and quail. Where I live now I don't have anywhere to take her to get her in the field to work with her. I will be moving to KS this winter and will be hunting w/ her next year hopefully. I have the whole month of December off work so I have plenty of time to get her started but will have to be something I can do at the house and w/out an actual bird. I am new to this and can't afford to pay someone to train her so hepefully I can get enough advice and help from here to get her going. Thank you.
Brandon
Old 11-28-2006, 01:19 PM
Spike

Default RE: Training a pointer

oddly enough, my buddy trained his pointer with a fishing poll. In or out of the house, tie a pheasant wind to the end of a pole and old it in front of the dog and dont let him move. Then move to letting the dog walkl up to the wing on his own, but if he doesnt stop and point and tries to get it, pull the wing away and tell him NO.

Its a good way to teach them the basics of pointing, not being able to get it. Then we moved on to pigeons. You can catch them or buy them. Spin them around and they will get dizzy, then set them in some cover. they wont fly untill you flush them cause they are dissoreinted (sp?)

Hope this helps
Old 11-28-2006, 01:28 PM
Dominant Buck

Well, the first thing is, for it not to be Gun Shy and then comes Obedience. With mostbreedsof the pointing family, pointing comes natural.
Old 11-28-2006, 01:49 PM
Typical Buck