Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Brand New Turkey Hunter Here >

Brand New Turkey Hunter Here

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Brand New Turkey Hunter Here

Old 04-04-2005, 11:59 AM

Default Brand New Turkey Hunter Here

Hello All. I am posting in regards to the upcoming Spring Turkey season in Ohio. This will be my first time goin' out and I simply can't wait. However, to be honest, I am quite nervous as well because I am complete novice in this field. I came here for some possible help. Basically, what I need to know are the basics with some tips to increase my chances of bagging a bird and making my hunting experience as enjoyable as possible. I need to what is absolutely necessary to take to the field (i.e. call? decoy? blind?), and what brand to purchase of each item - if required (I realize there will be MANY opinions on this topic, but maybe to help narrow down the suggestions, I will let you know that I am not looking to spend too much money - I simply don't have it). I am looking to spend not more than 25-30 bucks on a call, and probably less than that on a decoy if one is absolutely necessary. Also, any tips on scouting an area, where and how to set up, what type of call works best in spring, etc. would be great. I realize this post is fairly vauge, but I greatly appreciate any advice and suggestions that the Turkey Hunting community may have to offer. Thanks again and I look forward to your responses.
Old 04-04-2005, 12:24 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Brand New Turkey Hunter Here

Welcome to the sport... a decent call can be had in your $$range. Decoys (IMHO are for those that want "easy".) Get with an experienced turkey hunter, if possible..if not... read all you can. Calling isn't the key to success, woodsmanship is. Best of Luck to you,Bro...
Old 04-04-2005, 06:40 PM
Typical Buck