Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Some Questions for the Pro's? >

Some Questions for the Pro's?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Some Questions for the Pro's?

Old 02-06-2005, 10:16 PM
Fork Horn

Default Some Questions for the Pro's?

Ok guys I am very new to Turkey hunting and I have some questions? Ok I have land that has plenty of turkeys and I know they are out there. During deer season I had put out some corn for the deer and the turkeys ate it. So should I put a feeder up out there, And do I hunt from a treestand, groundblind, or in some brush? What kinds of calls work the best for yal? Do you use decoys, if so what kind how many? Well I have never done it before but it sounds like it would be fun. I would like to hear your thoughts.

I hunt in Oklahoma if that matters......
Old 02-07-2005, 10:10 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Some Questions for the Pro's?

Look up in the uppper right corner of this page in the links and click on "search". Put in "new to turkey hunting" (in quotes) or 'advice' (not in quotes) and you will find links to all kinds of muses and rememberances handed down by these sages over the eons.

Hope you have lots of time for reading,... there is plenty of it![]
Old 02-07-2005, 12:41 PM
Fork Horn

You don't want to bait them. It's illegal in most places and it's just no fun to ambush them like deer. Get a Lynch box call or a Primos Box Cutter box call, any of them are OK, and practice. Find some turkey sounds on the internet (NWTF site has some..NWTF.org) and practice up.
They can see real well so set up with some cover near where they roost or where they are seen regularly and give it a try.