HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Turkey Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting-5/)
-   -   Are Cody call over-rated?? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting/88916-cody-call-over-rated.html)

Mathewsbow1 02-01-2005 11:20 PM

Are Cody call over-rated??

I have not heard much about Cody calls on this forum. I'm new to Turkey hunting and have read great things about Cody but it seems they are extremely proud of their calls. Are they worth the money. If not, what calls do you suggest I start with. I'm looking for a box call and a slate or glass call. I will be hunting primarily in TN!!

Any input would be grealy appreciated.

Thanks and good hunting!!
jt

ShallowRio 02-02-2005 05:10 AM

RE: Are Cody call over-rated??

At $50 each? I'd say so, There is a lot of custom pot calls out there for $35 -$45
And will come with a heckova lot nicer striker. Try Kaiser Kalls or Prairie Game Calls,

Turk_man 02-02-2005 06:02 AM

Now are you talking a Cody Woodsman or a World Class? Because if I remember correct alot of guys say the World Class is one of the best sounding calls made. It isn`t real fancy but sound is whats important, right?

slicendice 02-02-2005 06:23 AM

Personally, I think a call is worth what you're willing to pay for it. I also think confidence in the call is important. If you have a lot of confidence in a call, chances are that you'll use it in more situations and therefore, the more success you'll have with it. The bottom line is use what you like and are confident with.

Slice

RIStrutStopper 02-02-2005 11:10 AM

Spend $15 and buy an Knight and Hale Ol' yeller. Great slate-type call to start with. I'm sure many on this forum would agree. Andy Kaiser does make a nice call though...

mathewsconquest2 02-02-2005 11:57 AM