Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Newbie here

Old 01-12-2005, 12:43 PM

Default Newbie here

I normally frequent the big game, gun, hunting gear, off season, and political forums on this board. I am an avid elk, and deer hunter and hunt pheasants in the winter. I want to get into turkey hunting this spring and had a couple of questions for the experts.

What would be the best call to start off with?

Do I need to use scent lock clothing?

Anything else that you guys can think of that would help a new guy out would be greatly appreciated.

I din't know if this matters or not but I live in the Denver area and will be hunting SW of town.
Old 01-12-2005, 01:10 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Newbie here

Welcome to the boards. This is the beginning of the end for you. After turkey hunting, you'll become hopelessly addicted and will think of little else. Its a good thing you don't need scent lok clothing. If turkeys had a sense of smell, they would probably be close to impossible to hunt. Plain old camo is all you need. For calls, I'd start out with a box type and/or slate type call (Knight & Hale Ole Yeller is one of my favorites and easy to use.) Get yourself a tape or find some sound files on line and get your clucks and yelps down and just go from there. Also, make sure you pattern your gun and know what its capable of. Use different loads in #4, 5, and 6 from different manufacturers, and if possible try different extra full choke tubes to see what works best in your gun out to about 40 yards. Good Luck!
Old 01-12-2005, 02:27 PM

Thanks for the warm welcome. I will look at the calls that you mentioned this weekend and begin practicing.
Old 01-12-2005, 03:54 PM