Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Newbie with a slurry of questions.. who's got an hour or so? >

Newbie with a slurry of questions.. who's got an hour or so?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Newbie with a slurry of questions.. who's got an hour or so?

Old 12-29-2004, 12:20 PM

Default Newbie with a slurry of questions.. who's got an hour or so?

Hey guys/gals! Just have a few questions, so I'll get right to it. I'm new to the hunting scene, actually I've never hunted a day in my life. To be even more honest, I've never even fired a rifle or shotgun. I own a handgun though, a Springfield Armory XD-9. Which I have fired and I realize has nothing to do with hunting or anything like firing a rifle or shotgun. I've been doing some research and was hoping you guys could... guide me a little.

I'm looking to buy a 12 gauge shotgun, and the one that everyone I've spoken to recommends is the Remington 870 because it can handle a 3 1/2" load or shell and I can have it with a "full-choke".. sorry.. I don't know the jargan yet. How important is having a shotgun that is camo painted? Or does a regular shotgun work alright?

Secondly, I need gear, camo right? Pants, gloves, vest, jacket, hat? What would be ideal for a starter? What is necessary?

Finally, where to hunt. I'm in Las Vegas, NV. Not exactly hunting capital of the world, unless you're hunting hookers.. or bums.. heh. I've noticed that there are some parts of Nevada that do have turkey hunting and some parts of Arizona do as well. Any suggestions? Are there any "groups" that I could join and go hunting with to help me learn the ropes?

Ok ok. A lot of questions, I know, but I am trully interested in Turkey Hunting and look forward to giving it a shot. Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.
Old 12-29-2004, 12:45 PM
Nontypical Buck