HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Turkey Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting-5/)
-   -   First Timer Frusterated (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting/61668-first-timer-frusterated.html)

Grissle Chunk 05-19-2004 11:19 AM

First Timer Frusterated

This is my first year turkey hunting. I have been hunting a tom all month long. He will gobble all day but will not come to me. He has a hen with him that talks also. I have been imitating her but he will not come to me. I have hunted him 4 times and ended up stalking him and almost got a shot until he spotted me and bailed. Can I use a "Gobbler" call to try to get his girlfreind to come to me? Maybe he would follow her into shooting range.

Pat_Ely 05-19-2004 11:23 AM

RE: First Timer Frusterated

The onlu suggestion I would give you about using a Gobbler tube would be extremely careful of who is around you hunting. It is possible that if you start gobbling that another hunter will try to sneak in on you. I have called them in this spring using a gobbler shaker but I also knew there wasn't anyone hunting on the property I was on. It worked til the guy I was calling for moved and the gobbler busted us. One thing you may try to do is locate where the gobbler and hen are roosting and try to get in between them and mimic the hen before flydown. Good luck.

Grissle Chunk 05-19-2004 12:01 PM

Well I am on private land, the only hunter. I know where they are roosted and they are like right by each other. I could not get that close in the morning. I am not worried about any other hunter hearing the gobbler shaker. I just wonder if they would come to it.

Pat_Ely 05-19-2004 12:05 PM

There is no guarentee but yes I have used it to my advantage. So if it is safe for you to use then I would try it.

determined 05-19-2004 12:13 PM