HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Turkey Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting-5/)
-   -   Question for you experts... (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting/60061-question-you-experts.html)

farmcntry 04-27-2004 11:52 AM

Question for you experts...

I hear one gobbling a ways off. I try to sneak up on him, but about 90yds away he sees me and runs off. However, he is still responsive to calling and gobbles A LOT, but does not come back to me.

Will he be in the same feeding place tomorrow that he was today?

underpar69 04-27-2004 12:04 PM

RE: Question for you experts...

I would say go back in a few days and set up in about the same place. Once you locate this gobbler, I would set up and let the bird come to you. They usually feed in or close to the same spot. Its very hard to track a gobbler these birds see very well.

Doemasters 04-27-2004 12:11 PM

I'm no expert, but I'll chime in... The 2 worst mistakes I still make are calling too much & trying to set up too close. Been there, done that. To your question... The bird will feed in the general area if he's not spooked badly. The fact that he didn't fly is reassuring. I would leave the area alone for a few days & then make my approach from a different direction, preferably take an uphill set-up. The other thing I would do would be to change up my calling. If you were using a diaphram call when he was gobbling, you should switch to a slate. Make softer, fewer calls. Stick with the basic feeding calls & every once in a while throw in some leaf scratching. I definately wouldn't do any (verbal) fly-downs or real aggressive calling like cutting. I hope this helps & I hope you get your bird. Keep us informed.

farmcntry 04-27-2004 12:21 PM

Thanks guys. I'll give it a couple days and go back. I'll let ya'll know what happens.

Carpmaster 04-27-2004 12:24 PM