Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Ohio Turkey Hunting

Old 03-14-2004, 08:57 PM

Default RE: Ohio Turkey Hunting

I just got access to a private farm that is around 100 acres that backs up to 160 acres of mead land. I walked over the boundaries and seen no signs so guess what, it's getting hunted. It's one of the few spots I have found that isn't leased or atleast it isn't posted with signs. I don't hunt mead land but since this farm I got access to backs up to it might as well take advantage of it.
Old 03-16-2004, 05:53 AM

well i could tell you ............ but that would give away my hunting spots
Old 03-21-2004, 09:23 PM

Great thread guys ....just the info I was looking for.

I am pretty new to Ohio, so at this point I dont have any private land honey holes yet. Until I saw this thread I was planning to hunt Tar Hollow this spring.
I am introducing a guy at work to turkey hunting .....and we are going to be taking off the first three days to hunt.

I guess my question to those of you who have hunted there before ...is the hunting pressure during the week bad?? Is it a truck parked around every corner .....or is it 10 groups of guys?
I am definitely going to be scouting other lands. Possibly Deer Creek, Paint Creek, Scioto Trail and maybe Shawnee and Cooper Hollow.

Should I just say screw it and focus on Shawnee?? That is a little more drive time...but I am willing if that is what it takes.

I have talked up spring turkey hunting to this guy at work so much ....I dont want to let him down!
Thanks for the info.
Old 03-23-2004, 11:39 AM
Nontypical Buck

I hunt in brown county, it has hilly country, but there are some small fields at the top that make some great ambush spots
Old 03-24-2004, 04:46 AM