HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Turkey Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting-5/)
-   -   Wisconsin Conservation Congress Spring Hearings (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting/429014-wisconsin-conservation-congress-spring-hearings.html)

JW 01-31-2023 06:16 PM

Wisconsin Conservation Congress Spring Hearings

Here in Wisconsin as a resident I can vote on many new issues brought up by its residents through the Vonservation Congress Spring hearings.
Topics cover alot of Hunting and Fishing laws and regulations.
And as a resident I can also submit an idea for change.
So I am!

Turkey Hunting
Legal means to harvest a turkey today in Wisconsin is by shotgun, muzzleloader, crossbow, or by bow and arrow.

My suggestion.
Legal means to harvest a wild turkey is by:
Any firearm capable of holding a fixed shotshell, muzzlel9ader, crossbow, or bow and arrow.

Why?
This change would allow me or others to hunt wild turkey using a handgun such as a Taurus Judge 45/410 Revolver. Or that new Diablo 12 GA. Handgun.

Actually I have taken 5 birds now with my Taurus Judge 410, loaded with Apex tungsten TSS 9.5 Shot. I have a decent 25 yard pattern. It's Legal to use a handgun in a few states. So I do.
Why not my home state?
So I am in the process authoring this change. I hope to get it thru the CC system and on the Spring ballot.for this year.

Sure is a fun way to hunt!

JW

Bocajnala 02-01-2023 03:15 AM

I tell people all the time about you and your Judge.

Truly impressive!

I've yet to run into another turkey hunter who uses one.

-Jake

JW 02-01-2023 10:49 AM

Here's 2! Lol
Me and rhe man who started it. He bunny hunts for snowshoes with it.

Bocajnala 02-01-2023 12:06 PM

Originally Posted by JW (Post 4409328)
Here's 2! Lol
Me and rhe man who started it. He bunny hunts for snowshoes with it.

I suppose archery is probably still more difficult...