HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Turkey Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting-5/)
-   -   Turkeys don't give a damn about my calls after flydown (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting/413535-turkeys-dont-give-damn-about-my-calls-after-flydown.html)

entropy4money 05-04-2017 10:50 AM

Turkeys don't give a damn about my calls after flydown

Hi,

I am new to turkey hunting. I am hunting private land and I setup a blind at the edge of a forest looking out to a field, close to where the birds roost. I practiced a lot with a mouth call and on my first morning, barely before sunrise I made a very soft yelp and waited. 10 minutes later 3 gobblers fly down about 10 yards from my decoy (which was setup at 20 yards). I gave them a soft purr and they got super excited and went right for the decoy. One of the gobblers was really nice bird, I got turkey fever, and missed by an inch... This happened with my bow. The birds didn't seem to notice the arrow much, but after a few seconds they moved 10 yards away, stayed there for a min and left for other hens. The rest of the day, I didn't get anything else (I can only stay until midday). But the birds were around the field, walking around and feeding with the hens, all in one big group, I couldn't get them closer than 100 yards, they did not cared about my calls at all.