HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Turkey Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting-5/)
-   -   How to actually call in a Turkey? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting/390295-how-actually-call-turkey.html)

Bulletproof_JBE 03-12-2014 04:05 AM

How to actually call in a Turkey?

So Iv'e posted a few times here on different topics regarding Turkey Hunting. As I have stated in the previous threads, im a complete newbie to Turkey hunting. I will be giving it a try for the very first time in May. All I really know is from the research I have been doing online.

I read a lot that a common mistake made by new Turkey hunters Is that they will call too often, but I haven't actually found any information on how often exactly to call them. Every 10 minutes? 20 minutes? And for how long each time? What kind of call?

I get a bit intimidated because I know a lot of hunters who are much older and more experienced hunters than myself who Turkey hunt but have someone else make the calls because they aren't good at them and/or don't really know how to.

I bought a mouth call, cant use it to save my life, and Im sure not going to ace it in a month until the season starts. What would be the best basic thing for me to do being new? I was thinking buying a box call, they seem relatively easy, and maybe a slate call. I guess no one takes just one call with them.

I just set up trail cams a few days ago, I want to start scouting them right up until the season starts in hopes to find where they tend to travel. I will be hunting out of a ground blind. Here in NY, Spring Turkey season goes until noon. Im thinking I should be in my blind by around 5am? When should I start calling?

Thanks for any advice!

JW 03-12-2014 05:15 AM