Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
Lets hear your tricks of the trade >

Lets hear your tricks of the trade

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Lets hear your tricks of the trade

Old 03-04-2014, 05:44 PM
neb
Typical Buck

Default Lets hear your tricks of the trade

I have been hunting this bird for many years and seem to always learn something new about them. I for one have great luck very late morning and late afternoon.
What do you have to share???
Old 03-04-2014, 06:05 PM
Nontypical Buck

Don't over call.

With a lot of foliage in late season here in the south, gobblers are closer than you might think.

Real hens win ... almost every time.
Old 03-04-2014, 06:05 PM
Fork Horn

scratching the leaves like turkeys has been the demise of many toms.

Gman

Last edited by Gamblinman; 03-05-2014 at 04:31 AM.
Old 03-04-2014, 06:19 PM
Typical Buck

well i am far from being an "expert" turkey hunter but i have picked up on many things over the years.

1. don't over call. alo of guys call almost non-stop when they hear a tom gobblein. that almost never works.
2. CAMMO!!! the most important aspect of turkey hunting. camoflaugeing yourself good enough is the key to bagging that big tom.
3. use an assortment of calls. ive noticed that you might be calling a tom in on your box call when at 100 yds he holds up. and no matter how hard you try he just wont come in. thats where multipul calls comes in handy. switching over from a box to a slate or mouth call might be all it takes to lure in the wary longbeard.
Old 03-04-2014, 06:27 PM
Super Moderator