Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Choke Tube Question

Old 02-06-2014, 09:20 PM
Fork Horn

Default Choke Tube Question

I bought a Primos Jelly Head choke tube it is .660 for my Remington 870 and I have found it will not fit my Remington 870 it will accept inner choke tubes that you use with a wrench but it will not accept a hand screw in choke tube why is this any help would be great thanks I'm a beginner turkey hunter.
Old 02-07-2014, 04:00 AM
Spike

My guess is you got the wrong model tube. The tubes for my 870 SM are inside for IC, Mod and Full but my turkey tubes all are extended tubes. The tubes are made to be brand specific
Old 02-07-2014, 04:38 AM
Fork Horn

I agree...wrong tube, or the threads are bad on the tube you have.

If you have the original packaging, go to the Primos website and make sure the model number or SKU match the choke for you gun. If it does, I'd call Primos...I bet they will make it right.

Gman
Old 02-07-2014, 04:42 AM
Giant Nontypical

Simple answer---The threads don't match. There are various threads on the different manufacturer's guns that are out there and you need to match the choke to the particular gun, regardless of whether it goes in flush with the end of the barrel or extends an inch or two outside.
Old 02-07-2014, 11:19 AM
Fork Horn

Okay thanks for the help when I bought the package from Bass Pro it said it would fit a Winchester or Remington model gun so that is what had me confused but thanks for the advice I will call Primos or check on there website for the specs again.
Old 02-07-2014, 03:06 PM
Giant Nontypical

Is the choke in the link below the one you bought?

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/181...choke-12-gauge
Old 02-07-2014, 05:13 PM
Fork Horn

Originally Posted by QuanticoKidd