Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
noob here - What do I look for when scouting? >

noob here - What do I look for when scouting?

Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

noob here - What do I look for when scouting?

Old 01-01-2013, 01:03 AM
Spike

Default noob here - What do I look for when scouting?

Hello all. One of my goals for this year is to take the hunter safety class. I'd like to hunt turkey. I can't take the class until the summer, but in the meantime, I spend a lot of time running and hiking on trails. I'd like to scout a few public lands out while I am doing this. What do I look for? I know what turkey tracks look like, but is there a link or resource that tells me other signs, and what time of year the occur at? Thanks!

ETA:

Just saw the Specific Turkey Tips and Tactics forum. Feel free to move this thread if it would be more appropriate there.
Old 01-01-2013, 10:48 AM
Fork Horn

Look for feather and poop and scratchins and listen
Old 01-02-2013, 04:32 AM
Fork Horn

It's not so much looking in the spring as it is listening for gobbles before the season starts. Fall turkey I would scout for scratchings, feathers, turkey turds.
Old 01-02-2013, 02:28 PM
Spike

Originally Posted by Uncle Nicky
It's not so much looking in the spring as it is listening for gobbles before the season starts. Fall turkey I would scout for scratchings, feathers, turkey turds.
What can I look for in the winter?

By the way, thanks for the responses, all.
Old 01-02-2013, 06:22 PM
Typical Buck

Their behavior changes from winter to spring. So winter scouting would at best give you a general idea that there are turkeys in the area.
Old 01-03-2013, 05:37 AM
Nontypical Buck