Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
Safe to shoot gun or bow while pregnant? >

Safe to shoot gun or bow while pregnant?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Safe to shoot gun or bow while pregnant?

Old 02-27-2012, 06:50 AM
Spike

Default Safe to shoot gun or bow while pregnant?

I'm only in my 1st trimester, but concerned that I shouldn't hunt this weekend. I'm quite small framed also. It's opening season for turkey here (my favorite!)
Is it safe for me to shoot a shotgun? Is it safe for me to shoot my bow?
Old 02-27-2012, 08:48 AM
Nontypical Buck

Well, I'm no doctor, don't play one on TV and I didn't stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night either, but I can't see where it would hurt, but I would call your doctor just to be sure! And good luck!
Old 02-27-2012, 08:56 AM
Typical Buck

I didn't stay at a holiday inn express either,
While I don't see the harm in it, why chance it?
First trimester is most dangerous time.
And even though shooting might be perfectly safe, lots of mishaps can happen afield.
Old 02-27-2012, 01:27 PM
Nontypical Buck

I'd ask your doctor. I would suspect it would be perfectly fine, but check for sure.
Old 02-27-2012, 05:57 PM
Typical Buck

I would not take the chance if it were my wife. Im not sure if the loud noise would be a big deal since you are in your first trimester, but the exposer to lead might be. I just wouldnt want to take a chance on anything going wrong. I would check with your doctor.
Old 02-28-2012, 08:30 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by swampbuster
I would not take the chance if it were my wife. Im not sure if the loud noise would be a big deal since you are in your first trimester, but the exposer to lead might be. I just wouldnt want to take a chance on anything going wrong. I would check with your doctor.