HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Turkey Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting-5/)
-   -   Safe to shoot gun or bow while pregnant? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting/359269-safe-shoot-gun-bow-while-pregnant.html)

Kountrykristi 02-27-2012 06:50 AM

Safe to shoot gun or bow while pregnant?

I'm only in my 1st trimester, but concerned that I shouldn't hunt this weekend. I'm quite small framed also. It's opening season for turkey here (my favorite!)
Is it safe for me to shoot a shotgun? Is it safe for me to shoot my bow?

Simp 02-27-2012 08:48 AM

Well, I'm no doctor, don't play one on TV and I didn't stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night either, but I can't see where it would hurt, but I would call your doctor just to be sure! And good luck!

Terasec 02-27-2012 08:56 AM

I didn't stay at a holiday inn express either,
While I don't see the harm in it, why chance it?
First trimester is most dangerous time.
And even though shooting might be perfectly safe, lots of mishaps can happen afield.

Bible_Man 02-27-2012 01:27 PM

I'd ask your doctor. I would suspect it would be perfectly fine, but check for sure.

swampbuster 02-27-2012 05:57 PM

I would not take the chance if it were my wife. Im not sure if the loud noise would be a big deal since you are in your first trimester, but the exposer to lead might be. I just wouldnt want to take a chance on anything going wrong. I would check with your doctor.

SecondChance 02-28-2012 08:30 AM

Originally Posted by swampbuster (Post 3916003)
I would not take the chance if it were my wife. Im not sure if the loud noise would be a big deal since you are in your first trimester, but the exposer to lead might be. I just wouldnt want to take a chance on anything going wrong. I would check with your doctor.