Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
What is a good shotgun for turkey hunting? >

What is a good shotgun for turkey hunting?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

What is a good shotgun for turkey hunting?

Old 05-08-2011, 11:19 PM
Spike

Default What is a good shotgun for turkey hunting?

I'm new to the turkey hunting scene and having only upland shotguns, what is a good type of shotgun for tukeys? I know everyone will say something different, but I have no idea really. What should I look for, and what should I avoid?
Old 05-11-2011, 12:26 PM
Typical Buck

Depends on your state regs. I have used the Rem. 870 express 12 g. none camo for over 10 years and love it ! Many hunters swear by this Rem but as you said everyone has their favorite. I may be looking for a new camo 870 next year just because I'd like to try a new one but I'll keep my old Rem!!
Old 05-11-2011, 02:01 PM
Nontypical Buck

My Mossberg 500 has killed every turkey I have ever shot at with it except one, and that was before I had a barrel with variable chokes. I only had a modified choke barrel that came with the gun as a combo. I don't mind dragging it through mud or whatever else, and I often hunt in the rain. I would be a lot more careful if it were an autoloader. IMO, it is about the ideal "beater" shotgun. If you want to shoot 3.5" shells, you could go with a Model 535.
Old 05-11-2011, 07:26 PM
Giant Nontypical

870 or 500 unless you want to spend some dough........................

Get an autoloader !

3 1/2" magnum with an extra full turkey choke and then you'll also have a waterfowling gun.
Old 05-12-2011, 08:28 PM
Fork Horn

i use an old stevens 820b with a poly choke,smoothest shotgun i have
Old 05-13-2011, 02:53 PM
Fork Horn