Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
Rain, rain and no turkeys! >

Rain, rain and no turkeys!

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Rain, rain and no turkeys!

Old 05-05-2011, 05:23 AM
Spike

Default Rain, rain and no turkeys!

So turkey season opens on Friday in my area. For the last week or so I have seen many in the field in front of my house. Now 2-days of rain and I have seen 0. Forecast is for rain on Friday & Saturday also.

Since these guys seem to hate rain and not come to the fields, I was thinking of setting up shop somewhere in the woods maybe near one of my 8ft wide foot paths. I assume they don't stay in their tree 100% of the time when raining!

I am a novice at hunting (only second turkey season) What is your experience in rain/foul weather? Any tips/comments appreciated.

M.
Old 05-05-2011, 06:02 AM
Fork Horn

They usually like to be in fields when it is raining.
Old 05-05-2011, 06:18 AM
Spike

Originally Posted by mgreen81
Not here i guess! Last week-end + early this week I saw so many, I was going nuts and could not wait for season to open. Now two days of rain and seen none whatsoever. Last year on the rainy days I also saw none so the type we have here obviously don't like it.
Old 05-05-2011, 09:05 AM
Boone & Crockett

Originally Posted by mgreen81
I have not sen them in the fields during any amount of rain either. I can not get them to answer a call during rain either. What's up with that? I know they are there but no show and no answers to my calling..
Old 05-05-2011, 09:22 AM
Fork Horn