HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Turkey Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting-5/)
-   -   Morning Hunt of Afternoon Hunt? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting/342970-morning-hunt-afternoon-hunt.html)

tndeerhunter80 04-03-2011 07:35 PM

Morning Hunt of Afternoon Hunt?

Ok, everyone has their preferance. I would like to know if you like to hunt the mornings or the afternoons and why. I am new to Turkey Hunting and sometimes the ol schedual wont allow me to hunt all day. So what is it folks?

doetrain 04-04-2011 07:01 AM

I prefer the afternoon hunts from 3:00 to 6:00,reason being this is when I as a first year hunter last year had all my success when calling and getting Toms to come in to my decoys. I asked some expieranced hunters why I had such success not being a very good caller or knowledgable hunter. They told me that due to the lateness of our season here in Indiana many of the hens had been bred and were nesting of looking for nesting sites so the Toms had fewer hens to choose from. During this time of day they will respond quickly and come in not being hung up with a bunch of hens. I had 7 Toms 4Jakes and 2 mature birds come in not more than 5 to 10 minutes of calling at this time of day.
I used a slate call first then a mouth call doing yelps and cutting hen calls only alternating them to sound like more than one hen. I set up 2 hen decoys and a Jake. I shot the Jake because the first mature bird gave me no good shot. The second mature bird I called in for a youth hunter,her first hunt and Turkey. See my Album if you want to see the birds. Good Hunting to ya!

RockyMtnGobblers 04-04-2011 07:47 AM

I hunt all day or at least morning and afternoon 3-7, I kill most of my birds in the afternoon.