Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
How long did it take you to down your first bird? >

How long did it take you to down your first bird?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

How long did it take you to down your first bird?

Old 04-21-2010, 04:32 AM
Fork Horn

Default How long did it take you to down your first bird?

My apologies if it's been asked before but I'm curious how long it has taken for you to down your first thunder chicken...I'm going on year two so far, hoping I can get one this week.
Old 04-21-2010, 04:42 AM
Nontypical Buck

I killed my first spring gobbler the third year that I hunted them..

That was 35 years ago and I've killed spring toms every year since then except two...
Old 04-21-2010, 05:10 AM
Typical Buck

Natimage. If your going the self taught route it can take a while. lol I went that route and it took me 3 seasons also, just like Pygmy. I've also been hunting them for nearly 40 yrs. now and I've killed my fair share since then but I remember that first one like it was yesterday. You'll get one just keep after em.

Dan
Old 04-21-2010, 09:57 AM
G92
Fork Horn

missed one my 2nd year,so it took me 3 years until i got one,this is going to be my 5th season and im still yet to shoot a tom,so this year jakes are walking.
Old 04-21-2010, 10:43 AM
Fork Horn

Self taught turkey hunter here. 25 now, and have been hunting 8 years. First year I got skunked, second year shot a jake, and every year after that I have tagged out.
Old 04-21-2010, 10:45 AM
Giant Nontypical

3 years for the first, and then 6 years later for the 2nd. Ive killed 2 birds in 9 years.
Old 04-21-2010, 10:57 AM
JW
Super Moderator

First yr I started I was lucky and lucky and lucky and missed and lucky...................