Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
How many calls do you use? >

How many calls do you use?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

How many calls do you use?

Old 01-12-2010, 11:14 PM
Fork Horn

Default How many calls do you use?

I've always hunted with the same Lynche's box call that I bought as a kid in school in 1983, and I've learned to use my mouth and own voice to at least get them answering. I know from guiding many hunters that most people use mouth calls, sometimes several of them and they also carry slate calls and every other kind imaginable.
I figure I've been killing turkeys for this many years without a problem so why try another call.
Just wondering how many calls most people bring along on an average hunt?
I realize of course that the more tricks you have in your bag, the better chance something will work. I just have my tried and true methods and call and am too old to change. I will admit to trying other types of box calls and mouth calls with no success, I've purchased and thrown away several, and keep on going back to my favorite.
I also wonder how people learn to call? I first learned on live captive turkeys on a farm, calling from a hidden position where I could see the birds. And basically imitated the hens sounds and repeated any sounds that made the boys attack the wire. After calling and killing my first turkey, I spent many hours stalking turkeys and sitting in their roost areas watching and listening to them and imitating sounds that got the boys gobbling. I have no idea what I'm saying to them, but I know what brings them to me.
Old 01-13-2010, 03:20 AM
Spike