Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Camo on guns....

Old 11-25-2009, 08:20 AM
Spike

Question Camo on guns....

As I've said in other forums, I'm new to the sport. Turkey hunting is more plentiful in my part of the state, and so I imagine I'll be doing it more than deer...and I am jsut now gathering gear for my leap into the hunting world. By gear, I mean guns of my own as well. My question is this, how important is having a gun with camo stock and barrel to hunting Turkey? I know it isn't a must-have for deer, but I wasn't sure otherwise. I would appreciate any feedback and advice I can get. Thanks..
Old 11-25-2009, 08:44 AM
Giant Nontypical

A good camo autoloader doubles as a turkey and waterfowler gun.

However, the best "camo" is to remain motionless (period).
Old 11-25-2009, 06:07 PM
Super Moderator

Turkeys have excellent eye sight. Any glare from sunlight might spook them. I would say camo it. Thats just me though. Also welcome to the awesome world of turkey hunting. Be sure to enter our spring turkey hunting contest. Its the biggest and best contest on the net. You will also have a good time meeting others who are addicted to this great sport. If you have any questions feel free to ask...
Old 11-27-2009, 05:01 AM
Nontypical Buck

camo on the gun isn't important, but it helps
Old 11-30-2009, 07:02 AM
Fork Horn

i agree with bowhuntercop just dont move and it wont matter
Old 12-03-2009, 10:21 AM
Nontypical Buck

Thumbs up

I agree, camo isn't really important, as long as your gun isn't shiny. A Matt Black gun is actually one that I prefer, it's always in style!!! Movement is the real key, even a camoed gun can spook the bird if your move at the wrong time. Besides, a Matt Black gun will normally run cheaper than a camoed one!!
Old 12-03-2009, 10:53 AM
Giant Nontypical

the color camo I don't think matters much.