Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Why dont people on tv ever turkey hunt from treestands? >

Why dont people on tv ever turkey hunt from treestands?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Why dont people on tv ever turkey hunt from treestands?

Old 05-04-2009, 02:37 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Why dont people on tv ever turkey hunt from treestands?

Im a noob to turkey hunting, but every show i see they are on the ground in some way, well im going upstate with some friends this week, and im going to be hunting in a tree stand cause i dont know the area, what are the disadvanatages of treestand hunting and calling a bird in?
Old 05-04-2009, 03:35 PM
bigcountry

Default RE: Why dont people on tv ever turkey hunt from treestands?

Turkeys can locate sound very well. And its unnatural for a hen to be roosted in a tree after sunrise. You can locate birds that way. Just when he gets within 70yards, I think I would not be calling any more. Espcially if hunting flat ground. If hunting mountain sides, it might be an ok idea.

Also if you just waiting for birds to roll by you, they will probably spot you before you spot them..

I notice a lot of guys see birds in Deer season and then think why not turkey hunt from tree stand.

Old 05-04-2009, 03:39 PM
Nontypical Buck

For one thing, a lot of turkey hunting is "running and gunning", in other words, by using a tree stand, you're limited to "that spot" where as most turkey hunters want to be mobile and move around and locate the birds, thenmove in, set up, and call them to you.
The reasons not to use a treestand far out weigh the reasons to use a treestand for turkeys. I suspect that if turkeys could use thier nose as a defense such as deer do, more guys would be using treestands to hunt them.
Old 05-04-2009, 03:47 PM
Nontypical Buck