Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

I'm tagged out....

Old 04-26-2009, 04:55 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default I'm tagged out....

Hello everyone! I haven't been on here much but I thought I would share this years turkey season with you. I don't think I did to bad considering this is my first year turkey hunting.

------------------------------------------------------------------
First turkey of the year (March 22nd):

Story: John, Larry, "Shorty" & I got to our hunting spot at the break of dawn and setup in a tree line with a field to our back and a field in front of us. We setup the decoys in the field in front of us.

After we got settled down John started calling and got about 20 turkeys gobbling! At this point I was pretty excited about this hunt. After about 15 minutes 3 turkeys came flying in overhead. The 3 hens landed about 100 yards from us but didn't come any closer.

Ten minutes later 3 more hens came walking in from the field behind us and walked by within 15 yards! Still no toms or jakes.

After about 20 minutes of nothing happening John decides to go ahead and scout the other fields where we heard some turkeys gobbling. About five minutes after he left, Larry looks behind us, (in the field that was to our back) when he spotted 10 turkeys heading our way! We quickly turned around and got ready for the incoming turkeys. A couple of them were toms and Jakes! Woo-Hoo!