Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Help a turkey new guy out...reed cuts? >

Help a turkey new guy out...reed cuts?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Help a turkey new guy out...reed cuts?

Old 02-26-2009, 10:18 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Help a turkey new guy out...reed cuts?

Alright, I'm entering my second season hunting turkeys. I'm learning a lot, but I'm still pretty new to the mouth call scene. I know the rule of thumb is the more reeds and more cuts, the more realistic the sound (with the trade off of difficulty in use). However, I hear terms like V-cut, batwing cut, etc. What are the difference between these cuts?
Old 02-26-2009, 10:34 AM

Default RE: Help a turkey new guy out...reed cuts?

try out the "spit n' image" series by knight and hale. they are very easy to use and sound excellent. chris parrish hand streches the latex, which will makes them sound great and last forever.
Old 02-26-2009, 10:42 AM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: MGH_PA

Alright, I'm entering my second season hunting turkeys. I'm learning a lot, but I'm still pretty new to the mouth call scene. I know the rule of thumb is the more reeds and more cuts, the more realistic the sound (with the trade off of difficulty in use). However, I hear terms like V-cut, batwing cut, etc. What are the difference between these cuts?