Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 ADVICE ON QUALITY BOX OR SLATE CALL >

ADVICE ON QUALITY BOX OR SLATE CALL

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

ADVICE ON QUALITY BOX OR SLATE CALL

Old 01-28-2009, 08:09 AM
Fork Horn

Default ADVICE ON QUALITY BOX OR SLATE CALL

thanks for the help

I have been using a box call for a couple of years, the "long spur". i don't like the sound it makes and i am looking to try some new calls. so far i have tried a couple, i really like the "real hen" box call, it has a very good sound. the lynch box call didn't have a sound i liked but it really reached out there and got shock gobbles when my other box couldn't. is there any other calls out there that you know have a very good sounding yelp and cluck that you would recommend that i go try out.

i am also looking into a new slate or glasscall, one that can really hit a good loudpurr. last year i bought the primos "the freak", i don't like it that much. sometimes i can get it to purr real good, but if i am purring and clucking for an extended period of time it will start to skip.
Old 01-28-2009, 08:42 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: ADVICE ON QUALITY BOX OR SLATE CALL

My go to call is an inexpensive H.S. Strut Field Champion Natural box call. For some reason it just talks turkey.
The Lynch World Champion and Foolproof have also been good producers for me.

As far as slates go I have had very good success with A+J Turkey Calls. They talk turkey and look good to boot. You can find them here
http://www.a-jcalls.net/shop/index.php
Old 01-28-2009, 08:42 AM
Nontypical Buck

Try a good quality custom pot call. I am sure you would like the sound of the purrs.
Old 01-29-2009, 04:46 AM
Typical Buck

go to www.midwestturkeycalls.commany custom calls you will the that place

Old 01-29-2009, 05:08 AM
Fork Horn