Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 I'm a newbie gearing up for spring. Need suggestions. >

I'm a newbie gearing up for spring. Need suggestions.

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

I'm a newbie gearing up for spring. Need suggestions.

Old 12-10-2008, 11:13 PM
Spike

Default RE: I'm a newbie gearing up for spring. Need suggestions.

Glad to see I'm not the only one getting into turkey hunting for the very first time this spring!
Old 12-11-2008, 02:05 AM
Nontypical Buck

Welcome to the sport. These birds will make you think that you are absolutely the dumbest hunter out there so be forewarned (if they dont then you have stupid turkeys[8D]).
As far as Im concerned the brand doesnt make a whole lot of difference(not looking for an argument) what it comes down to is knowing how to produce the right sounds, so pick up a call and start practicing. As far as decoys go, I would start off with a single hen and go from there. I would also try to get a decoy that is made of a harder material then the foam decoys as they tend to hold their shape. Also try to find a decoy that has a stake that locks on to the decoy so it doesnt blow over. Stay away from inflatable decoys because turkeys have sharp claws.
Old 12-11-2008, 05:56 AM
Nontypical Buck

Thanks for the advice!
Old 12-11-2008, 11:34 AM
Spike

Quaker boy makes a good push button box call for a beginner. As far as turkey decoys go I have always been partial to Feather Flex.
Old 12-15-2008, 08:09 AM
Nontypical Buck

Well, I picked up an HS Lil Deuce 2 friction call. I also ordered a Jake decoy and a mouth call. I know the mouth calls are on a learning curve, but I figure I might as well start practicing now. Hopefully I can get on some birds in spring.
Old 12-15-2008, 03:02 PM
Nontypical Buck