Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 How good are their eyes? >

How good are their eyes?

Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

How good are their eyes?

Old 10-10-2008, 01:16 PM

Default How good are their eyes?

Do you think i would have a problem with the orange on this hat? I am pretty new to it and heard they have incredible eyes.

http://westonsigns.com/product.php?productid=2423
Old 10-10-2008, 03:19 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How good are their eyes?

Probably not, but if you are concerned, don't wear it while turkey hunting. Buy it anyway, it's a pretty cool cap. You are right, turkeys have excellent eyesight, but with that little color in the cap, you should be okay.
Old 10-10-2008, 03:36 PM

Nice hat, but I read in a book about turkeys that they can see a penny taped on a tree from 300 yards away. I cannot remember what book it was for the life of me, but I remember that line in it. It suprised me, because I knew their sight was good, but not THAT good.
Old 10-10-2008, 07:11 PM
Giant Nontypical

I'd be worried about it. Better safe than sorry IMO.
Old 10-10-2008, 07:25 PM

Probably would be ok, but just don't moveyour head onemillimeterwhen they are in your line of sight. I've had NUMEROUS occasions while wearing blaze orange parka/hat/etc.during deer gun season where turkeys have wandered by well within shotgun range. The thing aboutseeingthem during deer seasonis that I don't have to do any movement at all to get a gun into position. It was just sit back and enjoy the show. Would be different if I were actually hunting turkeys.
Old 10-10-2008, 09:03 PM

Oh, of course it would have been different if you were hunting turkey. You never seem to get lucky when you hunting what's in season!
Old 10-10-2008, 10:28 PM
Nontypical Buck

Yea good looking hat, but i dont think i would wear it turkey hunting.