Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

First Bama turkey hunt

Old 02-21-2008, 02:19 AM
Fork Horn

Default First Bama turkey hunt

I hunt in Florida when turkey hunting and have never been out of state to bird hunt. This year myself and some friends are going to be hunting in the Eufala area and I was wandering if it is better to hunt in the bottoms or try and stay on top of the ridges and call the birds up the hills? This may sound like a silly question but I like any edge I can get especially being this is my first time hunting here! Thanks for the help
Old 02-21-2008, 02:46 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: First Bama turkey hunt

Good luck. I've yet to score on a Bama bird, after 3X. Generally you'll have better luck calling a bird uphill, or when you're at the same level as him. If you hear one or strike him with a locator, go around and get higher than where you thought you heard him, or at the same level..of course you're doing this as quietly as possible...then call again, but not as loud as before.

If he answers, but heads downhill, don't follow. (Maybe it's here, maybe it's 'cause we got Rios) If you do, you'll have a hard time getting him to commit and come up to you.

Have fun.
Old 02-21-2008, 06:42 AM
Typical Buck

It just depends on the situation. It seems to me you can find birds in both places. Knowing the area you hunt can help tremendously. I think they like to move to ridges, but they can't stay there all day long. I have had more luck on the high ground than the low ground, but I sure have had a lot of close encounters in the bottoms.
Old 02-21-2008, 07:54 AM
Fork Horn

Where will you be hunting in Eufaula? Is it private or public land? That will be a huge factor in your sucess or failure.
Old 02-26-2008, 05:59 PM
Fork Horn