Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Turkey Decoys.....HELP!

Old 02-20-2007, 07:58 PM

Default Turkey Decoys.....HELP!

I'm new to turkey hunting this year and i would like to buy some dekes, what is the best brand to buy? how many should i have, what's a good deke set for birds? thanks a lot guys for your help
Old 02-20-2007, 08:22 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Turkey Decoys.....HELP!

I believe the inflatable decoys are the best ones to get.

click the link

http://www.huntingnet.com/forum/tm.aspx?m=2002972
Old 02-20-2007, 08:51 PM
Giant Nontypical

If you really wanna buy some decoys then you should get at leastthree of them to make what we call a ( love triangle ) two hens and a jake will work real good.
To make a ( love triangle ) you should have one feeding hen , one alert hen and one inturder jake and when you go to set them up you should place your hens close to your blind and your jake should be in front of you about 10 to 15 yards away.
As for best brand ... well thats up to you , shop around and look at all the diffrent brands then pick out the one you like .
I use the Bobb'n Head Breading Pair and the Bobb'n Head Feeding Hen , the color and detail are great and the moving head makes them look more real.
Old 02-20-2007, 09:28 PM

i disagree with the inflatable decoys. if you really want to get those toms running try the pretty boy or the primos b-mobile. they're pricey but totally worth it. the love triangle is the way to go with a jake and hen close together and a hen off to the side about 10 yards. if you can try and get a jake mounting a hen. I personaly use delta, very strong and realistic and easy to set up, stay away from flambeau
Old 02-21-2007, 03:10 AM

Personally, I prefer the collapsible foam decoys. They're lightweight and easy to carry.