Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

what decoy?

Old 04-12-2006, 11:01 PM
Typical Buck

Default what decoy?

Hey guys im brand new to turkey hyunting...this is gonna be my first year and i was wondering about decoys...should i get mroe than one or is one good...if i do get mor ethan 1 should it be 2 hens or a jake and a hen...which company makes the best quality for the lowest price...i'm not interested in decoys that are more than 40 bucks for a set...mayeb 50 at most, btu thats a lil ridiculous...well lets hear it from the pros
Old 04-12-2006, 11:35 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: what decoy?

Personally, I love Buckwing Decoys. I Would opt for a single hen or maybe two. I usually dont use jake decoys.
Old 04-13-2006, 02:27 AM

Any of the decoy brands will work. Personally, I've had better luck using a jake with my hens. The first bird I killed this year, ran right through the middle of 5 live hens and past my hen decoy straight to my jake decoy. He was in full strut as he ran the 200 yds and was mad as he!! when he reached the jake decoy. I wish I had the patience to of let him thump the jake, but I couldn't stand it. I rolled him at 20 yds. Got the whole thing on video, too. I've killed several birds that were more interested in the jake than the hens.In my experience,a hot, boss bird just can't stand the thought of a jake standing out there with his hens. It's definitely something worth adding to your arsenal.
Old 04-13-2006, 03:04 PM
Typical Buck

should i get the collapsible or the regular ones

Old 04-13-2006, 08:08 PM
Typical Buck

Nearly all of them are collapsible. The foam ones pack tight but are the least durable and they have a habit of retaining creases from being folded. The ones made of a rubber-like compound are more durable and, in my opinion, more realistic.

Old 04-13-2006, 08:32 PM
Nontypical Buck