HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Turkey Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting-5/)
-   -   Decoy Question (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting/139267-decoy-question.html)

swisslake 04-10-2006 06:14 PM

Decoy Question

I am relatively new to spring turkey hunting & leave next week to hunt for 3 days. A freind who has done some hunting recommended that I get a jake deoy & position it over a hen on the ground in breeding position. Anyone feel this is better than just a hen or two?

Wingbone 04-10-2006 06:34 PM

RE: Decoy Question

Yes, and No. I'd use a jake and hen earlier in the season. But I'd keep it at least 5-10 yd's away from the hen. A dominant hen won't let a submissive jake near her. You want the jake to look wimpy. Really makesa tommad. Later in the season, when everyone has used the 2-hens-and-a-jake setup, use a hen alone and don't call much.

hillbillyhunter1 04-10-2006 07:34 PM

If I was a newbie turkey hunter, I would maybe take just a hen decoy. Don't get too fancy at first. No matter what a single hen decoy will work. No decoy will also work.

Mastevt 04-10-2006 07:42 PM