Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Day2 Need help..

Old 03-29-2006, 12:57 AM

Default RE: Day2 Need help..

Where are you located? That is weird b/c the birds here in SC have been gobbling for weeks. This cold snap we are just now coming out of shut them up a little.

I wouldn't give up. You aren't going to kill a turkey in a bass boat. And I promise you, when you call in your first gobbler. You will want to sale the bass boat and buy more turkey hunting stuff.

Old 03-29-2006, 04:08 AM
Dominant Buck

Jason
I'm from Lakeland, Florida; which is in central Florida. I'm hunting on public property. ..The Green Swamp.I'm a teacher and we are on spring break. There have been 25 turkeys killed so far. A certain amount of hunters were able to start hunting 2 Saturdays ago. I did not get one of those quotas. Possibly all the hunters could of quieted the birds down. I've got a Bass Tournament going on the freshwater site and we are also in the best week of spawning...decisions ,decisions. I'll be back for the turkeys on Thursday.
Chuck7
Old 03-29-2006, 11:45 AM

LoL.

Good luck with it.

I would lay my rod and reels aside ANY day to get in the turkey woods!

The birds may be really call shy. If this is the case try setting up a decoy or two and soft calling every 15-20mins. Scratch the leaves. All of those turkey tracks didn't make themselves.

Are you sure they are turkey tracks and not fish cranes? Not trying to insult your intelligence. I've seen a few people make this mistake.
Old 03-29-2006, 01:58 PM
Dominant Buck

LoL.

Good luck with it. Thanks

I would lay my rod and reels aside ANY day to get in the turkey woods!

The birds may be really call shy. If this is the case try setting up a decoy or two {I've had them 3 out my friend.}and soft calling every 15-20mins. Scratch the leaves. All of those turkey tracks didn't make themselves.