Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Run and gun or sit patient? >

Run and gun or sit patient?

Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Run and gun or sit patient?

Old 03-20-2006, 04:31 PM
Typical Buck

Default Run and gun or sit patient?

what is your style? i have always been taught to be very patient if you know birds are in the area. don't keep moving around, chasing birds, but rather hold tight and stick to your plan. It has always worked for me, but admittedly, i am no expert. I do seem to consistently get a bird on opening day.

interestingly, I could not get a bird to leave his strut zone the other day, so i was forced to get up and go after him. I was able to cut through the woods and get on him nicely, but that is an unusual strategy for me. many folks i know, can't sit still to save their life. they run and gun the whole time. some are successful, most are not.

what's your style and opinion on the two?
Old 03-20-2006, 04:54 PM
Super Moderator

Default RE: Run and gun or sit patient?

I myself do both. It all depends on the situtation.
Old 03-20-2006, 05:46 PM

I have never done well at running and gunning...
I tend to like to sit...but if the situation dicates otherwise I will be on the move.
Go with your gut, do you scouting, and you will know the answer.
Old 03-20-2006, 05:58 PM
Giant Nontypical