HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Turkey Hunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting-5/)
-   -   Hevi Shot and such,am I missing something? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/turkey-hunting/130833-hevi-shot-such-am-i-missing-something.html)

paintbrush 01-28-2006 07:27 PM

Hevi Shot and such,am I missing something?

I've been hunting turkeys for 16 years now, and have taken quite a few gobblerswith plain old copper plated lead,like about 40 or so now.For the life of me, I cann't figure out how I've done that with out the help of Hevi Shot and such. Can someone pleasehelp me figure outon how I've been able to dothat? Thanks Paintbrush
What I'm getting at here is what is the need for anything other then a load of lead that you have cofidence in.All I think is that Hevi Shot and such is just a marketing gimmic to get more money out of our pockets into manufactors pockets.
Isn't a dead turkey shot at 35 yards or so with lead shot just as dead as a turkey shot with Hevi Shot at the same range,but with only about 1/3 the cost per shell.
If it ain't broke,why fix it!

ranchand99 01-28-2006 08:02 PM

RE: Hevi Shot and such,am I missing something?

We must follow HNI's newbashingpolicy..:DI went through the hevi-shot phase last year,and found it to be about the same,and ended up staying with my 3 1/2" Winchester HV#4's.I still have 3 boxes of #4 hevi in 3" 12ga.SO I am going to use them in my 11-87 for my wife to use.When they are gone I won't be buying any more.I'm with you on this one.;)

sour01 01-28-2006 08:22 PM

I would have to say you are right. I used Winchester 3.5" HV #4's and rolled several longbeards. But for me, and this is just me, I have enjoyed seeking the best pattern. It has been fun, albeit not cheap. It has just been another aspect of the sport that I personally have enjoyed. I even bought Nitro shells this year and they are real expensive---but they pattern like a dream.