Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Outdoor Gear > Trail Cameras
How Long Do Your Trail Cams Last? >

How Long Do Your Trail Cams Last?

Community
Trail Cameras Post your trail cam photos, reviews, tips, and suggestions here.

How Long Do Your Trail Cams Last?

Old 11-18-2021, 08:50 AM
Super Moderator

Default How Long Do Your Trail Cams Last?

I've been running trail or game cameras since 2016. I've tried Browning, Stealth, Moultrie and Cabelas brands. My favorites so far are the Cabelas due to some of their features like being able to look at pictures in the camera and their performance at night time. I leave mine out 365 days a year and change SD cards, batteries, do maintenance, etc. in the field so they can stay up all year round. This year, one of the lens covers for the motion sensor broke on a 5-year-old cam and Cabelas actually refunded it for me at the current price point for a new camera. A 2nd camera lens cracked and Cabelas told me the warranty is only for 1 year now and I'm out of luck. The cameras are still functional and I've been unable to find any replacements lenses (they were made overseas obviously).

My question is how long are your game cameras lasting and what brands, warranties, etc.? I'd switch to another brand if they offered better performance, longevity, etc. so am curious what performance everybody else is getting with their respective game cameras.
Old 11-18-2021, 10:43 AM
Nontypical Buck

well this is a good topic to see what others get
I personally have been running trail cam's since the late 90;'s, with 35 mm film camera's(still have some and last used they still worked about 2006 or so when I stopped using them)
as for trail cam's I also run many l of mine 24-7-365, or should say I run all of them, but some are at properties far away and some times battery's die and be dead a while till I get to them,