Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Outdoor Gear > Trail Cameras
what is the recommend height for a trail camera? >

what is the recommend height for a trail camera?

Community
Trail Cameras Post your trail cam photos, reviews, tips, and suggestions here.

what is the recommend height for a trail camera?

Old 02-03-2013, 12:23 PM
Spike

Post what is the recommend height for a trail camera?

When I go buy 3 trail camera's because I am new to them what is the perfect height to set them at to get great imagies and what brand do you prefer I buy I don't want one that will work for a few months and then crap out on me.
Old 02-03-2013, 12:30 PM
Giant Nontypical

I normally hang mine about waist high. But depending on the time of year, I may hang them closer to the ground for getting turkey pics, or sometimes I might hng them real high in the tree, to keep them out of sight of strangers. I would go with the Covert line of cams. Best cam for the money.
Old 02-04-2013, 10:11 AM
Nontypical Buck

I usually set my cameras at 3 to 4 feet depending on what comes around. Smaller deer or bear, my camera will be closer to three feet. Setting the camera higher reduces the field of view and is harder for animals to detect.
Old 02-04-2013, 05:51 PM
Fork Horn

coverts are the way to go!!
Old 02-05-2013, 04:38 AM
Typical Buck

I hang mine around 3 feet. I have one moultrie and just got a wild game innovations. Haven't used the wild game one yet though but have had good luck with the moultrie.
Old 02-05-2013, 08:58 AM
Typical Buck

Around waist high and I personally like the moultries. I have had wild game and Primos and hands down moultrie is better!
Old 02-05-2013, 11:36 AM
Fork Horn

I post mine at about 4 feet if its level, I would buy a covert red 40 on sale right now for $149. I agree with the above post, best cam out there for the money. I have been really impressed by mine, I also hear the mp6 is a great cam for a little less money. Scoot
Old 02-05-2013, 03:25 PM
Nontypical Buck