Community
Trail Cameras Post your trail cam photos, reviews, tips, and suggestions here.

help a rookie

Old 06-28-2008, 07:02 PM
Fork Horn

Default help a rookie

this is my first time putting out my trail cam. its a wildview extreme 4.0 mega pix. i know its a cheap its all i could afford. i had it up for a couple of weeks i think someone stole my sd card cause its not in there and all it store was the 25 pics it will hold on the cam itself. anyway i didnt get any pics of deer it took 23 night pics and the flash went off but the flash isnt that far out and i didnt get any pics of deer. i can see the eyes glowing but thats it. is it cause its a cheap camera and im getting what i payed for or is there something i can do to help. i am going to get some corn or something to attract, hopefully draw them in closer cause this time i didnt use nothing i was wanting to see what i could get natural. help is appreciated as i am a total green horn. thanks.
Old 06-28-2008, 08:55 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: help a rookie

I have the same camera works good. It workes best if you keep the batteries and if you point it down a little bite. But it workes pretty good for the money

Old 06-28-2008, 10:57 PM
Nontypical Buck

You probably wont have much luck without something there to stop them and draw there attention. Just make sure its legal to put out some corn or a mineral block. I would recommend a mineral block but that totally up to you.
Old 06-29-2008, 05:37 AM
Nontypical Buck

make sure you are placing your camera on a good trail. also point the camera looking down the trail, not straight across and try to find a trail that is moving north and south instead of east and west. this way the sun doesn't "wash" out your pictures. sounds to me as if your camera was being tripped before the deer got close enough.
Old 06-29-2008, 07:03 AM
Fork Horn

i had the same problem with mine when i started found out that cheap c cell batteries dont last more than about 4-5 days the weaker they get