Community
Traditional Muzzleloading Forum Firearm Types open for discussion: Pre-Flintlock, Flintlock, & Side-lock Percussion. Smoothbores, Muskets, Rifles, Shotguns, Pistols & BP Revolvers, only

New to me .45 cal

Old 04-13-2017, 10:19 AM
Spike

Default New to me .45 cal

hello all I am a toal newb to blackpowder. I just acquired a Tingle MFG .45 cal muzzleloader in awesome condition. It shoots amazing. I was able to hit a 6 inch target at 80 yards with open sights. Can anyone give me some insight to this brand ? I am unable to attach a pic. It looks like a Hawkins with brass but plate brass trigger guard set trigger peep sights and a pewter end cap on the stock.
Old 04-13-2017, 04:30 PM
Dominant Buck

Bob Tingle was the gun maker. Tingle Manufacturing out of Shelbyville, Ind. is all I could find on them. From what I just read they were a very good well made rifle. All I would say is keep the loads under 100 grains to be safe, less is more with these rifles. Keep it clean and enjoy your find.
Old 04-13-2017, 04:30 PM
Dominant Buck

welcome to the forum also...
Old 04-13-2017, 05:01 PM
Spike

Update. I shot it yesterday. 80 great at about 90 yards is dead on. But the percussion cap only fires on a second hammer strike. Any thoughts. I thought maybe a worn nipple
Old 04-13-2017, 08:31 PM
Banned

Either a fat nipple or the lock screws are over tightened.
Old 04-14-2017, 04:14 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by MountainDevil54
Either a fat nipple or the lock screws are over tightened.